Have you (I really mean your library) made space for MakerSpace? In particular 3D Printing by Kim Sweeting

Hello all.  I want to share my experience with 3D Printing as a part of Information Technologies, uses and trends.  

Well let me first define MakerSpace–  it seems self-explanatory: making space but for what??? for hands-on experimental play and inquiry into technology made available in schools, libraries and businesses offering that service.  MakerSpace does not have to have electronic devices or power tools for it to be an established MakerSpace, but my focus will be on 3D printing.

Let me share this definition from Diana Rendina’s blog from renovatedlearning: A makerspace is a place where students can gather to create, invent, tinker, explore and discover using a variety of tools and materials.

For further reading check out her blog at renovatedlearning.com

My Experience:  I had the opportunity to be one of the two staff members at my branch library to receive in-house training on 3D printing.  It was required for all fifteen branches to have two staff members to complete this training.  I was asked if I was interested and I said “Yes”.  Who wouldn’t miss the opportunity to receive free training and the bonus of additional tech experience on your resume???  Not I.  So off, I started MakerCamp (the basics), which consisted of online lessons through Lynda.com and Tinkercad.com, and finished with an hands-on class (including troubleshooting, of course) with a MakerBot Replicator.

The Purpose of the 3D Printing class:

  • Explain what is 3D printing?  Check out this video.

https://youtu.be/Vx0Z6LplaMU

  • Be prepared as a staff member to do demonstrations and programs at the local branch level.
  • Introduce and expose to customers (young and old) this technology for free.

The Results of the 3D Printing class:

  • Satisfaction of completing my personal project created through Tinkercad and then printed with a MakerBot Replicator.
  • Seeing firsthand all the possibilities for the kids (and the adults, too),  and acknowledging that 3D printing is for everyone and through libraries it can be accessible for (say it with me) “free“.
  • Gaining knowledge and skills that I can share with others.

 

References

Group 5 References Here: Reference Page Link

Leave a Reply

